AFGW NSW AGM Celebrates organisational change, inspiring young women and its ongoing awards program

The AFGW NSW AGM was held on 28 September at the Sydney Mechanics School of Arts Building and gathered members enjoyed a review of the year and a view to the future for NSW.

Hosted by the City Branch of NSW, President Doreen Todd enjoyed sharing with members a review of the past year, as well as confirming recent changes to the membership suite of offerings for Graduate Women members and a slight change to the organisation’s name. More on this to come.

Joni Pini-Fitzsimmons – Georgina Sweet Fellowship recipient

Rhiannon Neilsen – Barbara Hale Fellowship recipient







Members at the event enjoyed the presentation of two national scholarships for the Georgina Sweet and Barbara Hale Fellowships and the announcement of the local Joan Ritchie and AFGW-NSW Education Trust Awards. Two students from the Nursing Faculty at Southern Cross University were this year’s deserving winners – Madonna Langan and Amanda Atkins. The Education Trust AGM was also held where members heard more about the spread of awards being provided by NSW and the branches – over 25 annually, which is a great collective achievement.











The Guest Speaker at the event was Prof Lisa Adkins Head of the School of Social and Political Sciences at The University of Sydney, who gave an in-depth presentation on the subject of Money being a Feminist IssueProf Adkins is also an Academy of Finland Distinguished Professor (2015-2019) and highly published and recognised. A copy of her presentation will be made available to members.



Newly confirmed Member Emerita – ‘Tricia Blombery and Jane Baker

Members and executives of the City Branch