At the Sophia Holland Lecture and Presentation Event held at the SMSA Building in the heart of Sydney, AFGW NSW recognised its extraordinary members of over 40 and 50 years standing. (Seen above Ms Verity Firth presenting to Joan Bell)

Jeanette Knox




Jennifer Bennett






Merle Thompson






Although many members were not able to make the journey, several locally based members were present to receive their certificate from Ms Verity Firth (guest speaker).

NSW President Doreen Todd and Federal President Dr Jane Baker were on hand to not only acknowledge the long standing commitment of these members, but their invaluable contribution over the years as executive members, branch executives and powerful examples of educated women making a difference.

We congratulate all AFGW NSW members marking this milestone this year – please see the list below featuring these remarkable women.

Celebrating 50 Years of Continuous Membership

Dorothy Balcomb
Joan Bell
Jennifer Bennett
Svea-Reet Bergman
Alison Biddulph
Sylvia Cleland
Jean Mary Fagan
Elise Goodacre
Judith Goodwin
Pauline Griffin
Etta Gwen Hamilton
Kathleen McCredie
Norma McMorran
Elaine Peterson
Vanda Phillips
Gaynor Reeves
Merle Thompson
Joan Kitchin

Celebrating 40 Years of Continuous Membership

Jeanette Knox
Shirley McMullen
Mary Minns
Rosemary Neville
Susan Stewart
Halina Turnbull
Robin Yabsley
Merle Parkes